Vegetarian Hot Dog

Oct 2nd, 2009 | By | Category: Featured, Hot Dog Information

A dog (sometimes referred to as a “veggie dog”) is a dog produced completely from non-meat products.

vegetarian-hotdogsVegetarian hot are sometimes eaten by non-vegetarians because they are lower in fat, calories, and contain no cholesterol compared to hot from animal meats. Unlike traditional home-made meat sausages, the casing is not made of intestine but of synthetic ingredients. Vegetarian hot are usually based on some sort of soy protein. [1] Some contain egg whites, which would make them unacceptable to vegans. There are also vegetarian hot made from tofu. Like ordinary , vegetarian hot contain little fiber.

The history of the vegetarian hot dog is not clear, but Worthington Foods’ Veja-Link meatless wieners claim to have been the world’s first vegetarian hot dogs in 1949. On June 19, 2000, the Chicago White Sox made baseball history when they began selling vegetarian hot dogs during games at Comiskey Park. The vegetarian sausage without a bun is much more common from the early 20th century, for example the 1913 Indianapolis (Indiana) Star 15 June 8/1 mentions someone who “says he has lived on his vegetarian sausage almost exclusively”. This is cited in the Oxford English Dictionary December 2007 draft additions entry for the adjective vegetarian, but no vegetarian hot dog, wiener or frankfurter is noted.

Courtesty of Wikepedia

Tags: , , ,

Leave Comment